We are a Dutch International School.

ISU is a Dutch International School. This means that we are governed by two cooperating local school boards: SPO Utrecht (Stichting Openbaar Primair Onderwijs Utrecht) and NUOVO Scholen (Stichting Openbaar Voortgezet Onderwijs Utrecht). SPO Utrecht is the board for 38 non-denominational primary schools in Utrecht and NUOVO Scholen is the board for 16 non-denominational secondary schools in and around Utrecht.

Board members

Our board member for primary is Anko van Hoepen (SPO Utrecht, on the left) and our board member for secondary is Jeroen Kreijkamp (NUOVO Scholen on the right). Mr Van Hoepen and Mr Kreijkamp  work together closely in carrying out their board responsibilities for the two divisions of ISU.

nuovo logo


ISU is a member of the Dutch International Schools (DIS), a group of over thirty schools providing internationally oriented primary and/or secondary education, known in Dutch as Internationaal Geörienteerd Onderwijs. Members of the DIS are all affiliated to a national school. For primary, ISU is proud to be partners with the Daltonschool Rijnsweerd and for secondary, with UniC secondary school.